MAKE TXDOT ACCOUNTABLE TO THE PEOPLE! Call Reps. to SUPPORT HB 154!

Action item: Call your reps to sign on to HB 154

The House Transportation Committee has heard these two outstanding bills and we want them to pass out of committee. If ordinary people get involved, these can become law!

Here are the bills:
HB 154 – (Author, Pickett) – Relating to the abolition of the Texas Transportation Commission and the creation of a commissioner of transportation as an elected statutory state officer. Hooray, this one is KEY to making TxDOT accountable to WE THE PEOPLE by replacing the APPOINTED Commission with a single ELECTED Commissioner!

HB 2203 – (Author, Kolkhorst) – Relating to payments by the Texas Department of Transportation to an unsuccessful private entity that submits a proposal for a comprehensive development agreement. This would outlaw TxDOT’s current policy of paying LOSING bidders on these toll projects up to $1 million in taxpayer money!

We need a HUGE public outpouring to support these bills!

Contact the Transportation Committee Meeting members below and ask them to support of HB 154 and HB 2203!

You may also contact each representative by calling the Capitol switchboard: (512) 463-4630.

CHAIR: Rep. Mike Krusee – mike.krusee@house.state.tx.us or (512) 463-0670
Rep. Larry Phillips – larry.phillips@house.state.tx.us or (512) 463-0297
Rep. Linda Harper-Brown – linda.harperbrown@house.state.tx.us or (512) 463-0641
Rep. Joe Deshotel – joe.deshotel@house.state.tx.us or (512) 463-0662
Rep. Pat Haggerty – pat.haggerty@house.state.tx.us or (512) 463-0728
Rep. Particia Harless – patricia.harless@house.state.tx.us or (512) 463-0496
Rep. Fred Hill – fred.hill@house.state.tx.us or (512) 463-0486
Rep. Nathan Macias – nathan.macias@house.state.tx.us or (512) 463-0325
Rep. Jim Murphy – jim.murphy@house.state.tx.us or (512) 463-0514

0 Replies to “MAKE TXDOT ACCOUNTABLE TO THE PEOPLE! Call Reps. to SUPPORT HB 154!”

  1. Adriana Silva

    This is to request that you PLEASE SUPPORT HB154 AND HB 2203. Unfortunately, I will not be able to attend the public hearing in Austin, TX on Tuesday, March 20th due to work schedule. I am against the toll road project and especially with the methods and procedures of which TX DOT conducts its business for its own benefit.

    You may contact me if you wish.
    Thank you,
    Adriana Silva

  2. Jimmy Lamberth

    You have all heard the saying, “Big Brother is watching!” Well, the table is turned. Little brother (the voters) is watching.
    We realize that there is a lot of pressure being put on each of you by your fellow elected officials to, “See it my way.” Just remember, none of them voted to put you into office and none of them will have a vote in the next election. Take a page out of Robert Nichols book.
    Over 2000 of us stood on the Capitol steps on March 2, Texas Independence day and “spoke to you all”. All 2000 + of us have kinfolks and neighbors who could not attend, but they can vote.
    In case you didn’t “get the message”. WE DO NOT LIKE THE CORRUPTION AND UNDERHANDED DEALINGS THAT ARE GOING ON IN OUR CAPITOL. WE DO NOT WANT TO PAY HOMAGE TO SPAIN OR ANY OTHE FOREIGN COUNTRY.
    WITH THE UNDERHANDED DEALS, TOO MUCH OF TEXAS HAS ALREADY BEEN GIVEN TO SPAIN. WE WANT IT BACK!!!
    I guess I shouldn’t say this, but with Mike krusee chairing this committee is like having the fox watching the hen house. I hope I have misjudged you Mike but I draw this conclusion by the “company you keep”.
    We “grass roots people” are aware of which ones of you signed on to support HB 2772. We sure hope this is not an indication of the support you will give HB 154 and HB 2003. It is not just the few thousand of us that are aware. We are circulating this information all over Texas and several othe states via the internet. Boy, Al Gore really helped us when he “invented” the internet.

Leave a Reply