TxDOT Open for Business Workshops…Texas is for sale!

The intent can’t be any clearer, our government intends to sell Texas to the highest bidder, regardless of the consequences like the highest possible tolls for our citizens, loss of control, foreign management of our public infrastructure, and the secret contracts (see this and this).


June 5, 2006
1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.
32 Old Slip Auditorium, New York City, NY

Hosted by the
Texas Department of Transportation

Open for Business
In Texas, what are known elsewhere as public-private partnerships are known here as comprehensive development agreements, or CDAs. Join us this June at our new CDA workshop, which will provide the most up-to-date information about projects under procurement in the state’s CDA program.

This is a networking opportunity not to be missed. Texas Secretary of State Roger Williams will be on hand to talk about the Lone Star State’s exciting economic development and investment opportunities. Commissioner Ted Houghton and key TxDOT officials will discuss Texas projects and the state’s innovative approach to delivering transportation infrastructure.

What attendees need to know:
– The transportation department has made many changes to its CDA program since the first workshop in January, which drew more than 500 participants.
– No webcast is planned for the June workshop, but program materials and the attendee list will be available soon after the event.
– Infra-News PPP Conference is being held that same week.
RSVP to TTA_TTA-Mail@dot.state.tx.us
To ensure sufficient meeting space, please provide the number of attendees from your organization/firm by May 22. Future updates on the workshop and the CDA program will be directed to this e-mail distribution group. Workshop updates will be posted at www.dot.state.tx.us



Austin Hilton

Thursday, June 8, 2006

9:30 a.m.
Opening Session
Michael W. Behrens,
Executive Director, Executive Director, TxDOT

50th Anniversary of the Interstate System
Texas Transportation Institute (video)
The Interstate Generation

Michael W. Behrens, Executive Director, TxDOT
Additional Remarks:
American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials
Harold Linnenkohl, President
Associated General Contractors of America
Steve Massie, Senior Vice President
American Road and Transportation Builders Association
Eugene McCormick, President
International Bridge, Tunnel and Turnpike Association
Stephen F. Mayer, Immediate Past President
“The Next 50 Years”
Texas Department of Transportation (video)
Keynote Address:
Joseph Giglio, Vice Chairman, Hudson Institute
12:30 p.m.
Road Hand Awards Luncheon
Honorable Norman Y. Mineta, Secretary, United States Department of Transportation
Road Hand Awards Recognition
Steven E. Simmons, Deputy Executive Director, TxDOT
2:30 p.m.
Breakout Sessions
The Road to Economic Opportunity
Moderator: Phil Wilson, Deputy Chief of Staff, Office of the Governor
Speakers: Ray Perryman, President, The Perryman Group
Robert V. Wingo, President, TexasOne
Edward B. Romanov, Jr., President and Chief Operating Officer, The Allen Group / Dallas Logistics Hub
The National Tolling Conversation
Moderator: Stephen F. Mayer, Immediate Past President, International Bridge, Tunnel, and Turnpike Association
Speakers: Marshall Crawford, Managing Director, JPMorgan
Dave Kristick, Director of Operations, E-470 Public Highway Authority (ie – Cintra’s toll road where they got sued by the Canadian govt for jacking up toll rates beyond peoples’ ability to pay)
The Future of Road Building
Moderator: Amadeo Saenz Jr., Assistant Executive Director for Engineering Operations, TxDOT
Speakers: Zack Burkett, President and CEO, Zack Burkett Co.
Jim Andoga, President, Austin Bridge and Road
Doug Pitcock Jr. , President, Chair, CEO, Williams Brothers Construction Co.
Bob Heitmann, Vice President, Zachry American Infrastructure
6:00 p.m. Reception
7:00 p.m.
Dinner and Keynote Address
Honorable Rick Perry, Governor of Texas

Friday, June 9, 2006

8:30 a.m.
Breakout Sessions
Legislative Action
Moderator: Lawrence Olsen, Executive Vice President, Texas Good Roads Transportation Association
Speakers: Representative Larry Phillips, Vice Chairman, Committee on Transportation, Texas House of Representatives

Senator John Carona, Chairman, Committee on Transportation and Homeland Security, Texas Senate
Michael L. Williams, Commissioner, Railroad Commission of Texas
Gerry Pate, President, Pate Engineers, Inc.
You Bet Your Assets: Leveraging Existing Infrastructure
Moderator: Ted Houghton, Commissioner, Texas Transportation Commission
Speakers: Judge Robert Eckels, Harris County
Geoffrey Segal, Director of Government Reform, Reason Foundationv
Greg Carey, Managing Director, Goldman, Sachs & Company
Texas Corridors
Moderator: Steven E. Simmons, Deputy Executive Director, TxDOT
Speakers: Tiffany Melvin, Executive Director, North American’s Super Corridor Coalition

James Beauchamp, President, MOTRAN/La Entrada al Pacifico
Michael Reeves, President, Ports to Plains Corridor Coalition
Judge John Thompson, Vice Chair, Alliance for I-69 Texas
10:30 a.m.
Breakout Sessions
The Future of Transportation Financing
Moderator: Graham Hill, Majority Staff Director, U.S. House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee
U.S. House Subcommittee on Highways, Transit & Pipeline
Jack Schenendorf, Commission on the Future of the Highway System
Joe Krier, Texas Study Commission on Transportation Financing
James M. Whitty, Manager, Office of Innovative Partnerships and Alternative Funding, Oregon Department of Transportation
Regional Mobility Authorities
Moderator: Mike Heiligenstein, Executive Director, CTRMA
Speakers: Jerdy Gary, President, Grayson County RMA
Terry Brechtel, Executive Director, Alamo RMA
David Allex, President, Cameron County RMA
Jeff Austin, III, Chair, Northeast Texas RMA
Aviation, Rail, and Public Transportation
Moderator: Judge Cletis Millsap, Hopkins County
Speakers: Dave Fulton, Director, Aviation Division, TxDOT
Roger Nober, Former Chair, Surface Transportation Board and Partner, Steptoe & Johnson in Washington D.C.
Eric Gleason, Director, Public Transportation Division, TxDOT
12:30 p.m.
Lunch and Closing Address
Honorable Roger Williams, Secretary of State

More info: www.texastransportationforum.com