They pulled 1604 amendment from the moratorium! DEFEAT SB 792!

Are we going to let Wentworth, Uresti, Van De Putte, Zaffirini, and highway lobbyists pull our roads out SB 792 in conference committee (of course, their line is: “that was a decision of the conference committee”)? Are we going to let highway lobbyists threaten Rep. Joe Farias this way? Our senators and highway lobbyists have shown TOTAL contempt for the WILL of the PEOPLE in a sneaky dirty trick. They haven’t even made the conference committee report available online yet, therefore it hasn’t been made available to the public, until AFTER the SENATE already voted on it! If I hadn’t been in Austin working with our reps, I wouldn’t have known it, and now here it is on a blog!

Link to Express-News blog here.

Government at work
By Pat Driscoll
Express-News
May 25, 2007

So is Loop 1604 included in the state’s latest proposed moratorium bill or not? If special interests get their way, it might not be.SB 792 this week mysteriously pulled an amendment that would have explicitly put Loop 1604 into a two-year moratorium on leasing toll projects to private companies.Rep. Joe Farias, D-San Antonio, who had tacked the amendment on last week, was told today that his measure wasn’t needed because it was redundant. (See “San Antonio question” in this blog.)But Farias aide Roger Garza said that wasn’t the first explanation they had heard:

About five minutes after the representative passed his amendment, we received a visit from a lobbyist who told us in no uncertain terms that, be ready for the heavens to open up because the powers that be, meaning San Antonio, were not going to stand by that amendment.So I think in the last week or so they’ve done quiet a bit of cajoling of the conferees to pull out 1604.

Garza wouldn’t give up a name.

ACTION ALERT
DEFEAT SB 792

Find out who your reps are here: here.

You can contact each representative and find out their fax numbers (also on the web) by calling the Capitol switchboard: (512) 463-4630 and/or you can email them below.

San Antonio State Representatives:
Rep. Joe Farias, joe.farias@house.state.tx.us
Rep. David Leibowitz, david.leibowitz@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Nathan Macias, nathan.macias@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Joe Straus, joe.straus@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Joaquin Castro, joaquin.castro@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Trey Martinez-Fischer – trey.martinezfischer@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Frank Corte – STREP123@aol.com
Rep. Ruth McClendon-Jones – ruth.mcclendon@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Jose Menendez – jose.menendez@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Robert Puente – robert.puente@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Mike Villarreal – michael.villarreal@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Edmund Kuempel – edmund.kuempel@house.state.tx.us

FOR THOSE EXTRA MAD…

Contact San Antonio Area Senators who voted to strip the 1604 amendment from the GOVERNOR’s moratorium bill:
Sen. Leticia Van de Putte, leticia.vandeputte@senate.state.tx.us
Sen. Jeff Wentworth, jeff.wentworth@senate.state.tx.us
Sen. Carlos Uresti, carlos.uresti@senate.state.tx.us
Sen. Judith Zaffirini, judith.zaffirini@senate.state.tx.us

CONTACT Lt. Governor David Dewhurst
He wants to be Governor, but orchestrated a COUNTERFEIT moratorium to bow to Perry and the HIGHWAY LOBBY.

Dewhurst contact info:
Via web mail form: http://www.ltgov.state.tx.us/Contact/#email
(800) 441-0373
(512) 463-0001
Fax 512.463.0677

0 Replies to “They pulled 1604 amendment from the moratorium! DEFEAT SB 792!”

  1. Larry Robinson

    Defeat SB792, Rick Perry has already been promised a castle in Spain. How David Dewhurst wants one closer to the sea. We are being sold out.
    DEFEAT SB 792.

  2. Bob Perkins

    ALL THE SENATORS NEED TO BE RECALLED AT ONCE!! IT IS PLAIN THAT THEY DO NOT HAVE THE BEST INTEREST OF THE PEOPLE AND DON’T PAY ANY ATTENTION TO THEM!

  3. Bob Wills

    “all the senators need to be recalled”? Definately a YES! But…First…They all need a good TEXAS ASS WHIPPING!

  4. Edward & Elsa Hauschild

    It appears that there is more to the matter of toll roads and corridors at hand here.
    Conspiracy theories aside, our country is in dire need of an orchestrated effort to deal with economic, health, energy and security issues without distractions.

    Given the compromises made by past administrations with regard to NAFTA, the sympathetic attitude our citizen-consumers have taken toward cheap foreign goods and the lack of morality displayed by the fuel industry; we, the concerned citizens of our state and country are at present in a distict minority.

    It’s obvious that there are persons that are trying to place mechanisms in motion to secure personal financial gain from the opportunities in these times. There are those also, so pathetically insecure that they would sacrifice every shred of respect in order to assure themselves a morsel of hope that they would be noticed as supporters (of the unscrupulous), so as to ensure some aspect of future for themselves.

    As the old typists’ phrase stated; “now is the time for all good men to come to the aid of their country”. We must pay attention and continue the effort, no matter how dim the outlook. The future is dependent on action, not apathy!

    To the Stall’s I say “thank you”, and may we prevail with each others support.

Leave a Reply